The OilField Journal

The OilField Journal is an annual peer-reviewed journal publishing original manuscripts and articles related to the mission of Drake Well Museum and Park - the uncovering, preserving, and sharing of Pennsylvania's rich petroleum history. Friends of Drake Well, Inc., has published the OilField Journal since 2001, and members of Friends of Drake Well receiving issues of the journal as an annual member benefit. Many past volumes of the OilField Journal are available for purchase through the Drake Well Museum Store. An index of each volume's articles and authors can be found here.

To submit a manuscript to be considered for our next issue, please contact Friends of Drake Well, Inc., Executive Director Emily Weaver at or call (814) 827-2797, ext. 102. The OilField Journal accepts manuscripts in a variety of areas related to the petroleum industry including but not limited to industrial history, social history, labor history, women's history, ethnic history, Black history, cultural history, political history, environmental history, and oral history. Non-traditional history topics related to the petroleum industry are especially encouraged. All selected manuscripts are peer-reviewed; any revisions will be suggested prior to publication. Submissions must not be under review for another publication and by virtue of submission, authors agree to not publish the article elsewhere without the consent of the editor of the OilField Journal.

OilField Journal Editorial Committee:

Mr. Paul Adomites, Editor, and Advisory Member of Friends of Drake Well, Inc., Board of Directors

Dr. Ihor Bemko, History Professor at PennWest University - Edinboro

Dr. Mark Sanko, History Professor at PennWest University - Clarion

Ms. Kelly Anderson Gregg, President of Titusville Historical Society

Ms. Emily M. Weaver, Executive Director, Friends of Drake Well, Inc.

Oilfield Journal V 18
2021–2022, V. 18
2020, V. 17
2019, V. 16
2018, V. 15
2017, V. 14
2016, V. 13
2015, V. 12
2012–2014, V. 11
2010–2011, V. 9
2008–2009, V. 8
2007–2008, V. 7
2006–2007. V. 6
2005–2006, V. 5
2003–2004, V. 4
2002–2003, V. 3
2001–2002. V. 2
2000–2001, V. 1
2011 s
2011–2012, V. 10